I’m Incredibly Thankful

Hey loves,

I just wanted to write a quick post about how wonderful my Thanksgiving and Black Friday days were. Enjoy!

Before that however, I want to write any factors that gave me anxiety this past week (for my counseling session): not finishing my final (I didn’t get to finish my online final which gave me extreme anxiety, luckily I won’t have the crappy speed problem anymore), my indecisiveness to pick my Christmas gift (which kept me up for a few hours last night), my group chat not deciding to cut out of our final video project, and what to eat. I think that’s it. I’ll edit this post if I can think of more.

I wanted to write a post yesterday but I was so exhausted and like I mentioned, I was anxious about my gift. I literally had to force myself to fall asleep. Anyways, Thanksgiving was pretty nice. We didn’t do absolutely anything at all. You see, my family doesn’t really do anything on Thanksgiving. No one came over. We had no big feast. It was just another Thursday for us that just so happened that none of us worked or went to school on. My mother did bring home a small ham from her work and my parents bought some pre-made mashed potatoes and mac n cheese. We didn’t even eat together, by the way. My dad and I heated our food and ate at about 7ish or 8ish. My mother and sister went Black Friday shopping (yeah, I know) and didn’t eat until like 11ish. Basically, our day was dedicated to Black Friday shopping. Yes, Black Friday shopping on Thanksgiving Thursday. Unfortunately, people spend their Thanksgiving feast lining up at Best Buy, Target, Walmart, the mall, etc to ensure they get the best ‘deals.’ It’s ridiculous nowadays. Most doors open at 5 or 6 pm on Thursday rather than 5-6 am on Friday morning. I remember years back when absolutely everything was closed on Thanksgiving Day and now if you’re closed then you’re not making money. Everything is opened; to say that my younger cousin actually had to work until 1o p.m. yesterday. It’s crazy nowadays.

However…………………………

Something totally awesome happened……

I GOT MY NEW MAC!!!!!!!!

I am SUPER excited! I’ve been needing a new laptop since forever now and now I finally got a new one and it’s a Mac! It’s the latest Mac Air model with like 256 gb and it’s pretty damn nice. I’m not going to lie, I am NOT a technology person. I hate technology. I only really use a computer to write papers for school, take online tests (*cough* *cough*), other school related stuff, and to write my blog for you guys. I do sometimes do other stuff like surf the web and download pictures and watch Netflix and YouTube too but I’m just not that big into that stuff. BUT I’m still beyond excited and incredibly grateful!

This was my Christmas gift. I’m not going to lie, it was very expensive (only $1,100). Coming from a poor working class family, my parents must have sacrificed a whole lot to get me this computer. This cost as much as my tuition for this last semester. I realize that I have some incredible parents that sacrifice a lot for my selfish wants. They may my college tuition, my books, my phone, my food, everything. They both slave at work every single day to make sure I can go to a private school and get my degree so I won’t slave. I have a lot to be thankful for. I don’t even deserve this laptop. I don’t work and I don’t really do much at all. I just realize how damn lucky I am. There are other people starving and sick and here I am not stressing out on whether or not I should get the Macbook Air or a Macbook Pro for $100 difference (lol). Yup, I didn’t know what to get. What I did know was that if I would have gotten the other one, I would have had to put in some of my own money to cover the taxes and extra $100 (my parents were not planning to have the extra cash) so I decided just to go with this one because those with those extra $100 I want to be more selfish and buy myself some fur/sheepskin boots.

I have so much to be thankful for. Things I take for granted every little day. I am very thankful to have such wonderful parents. I am very grateful to have such amazing friends. I am very thankful to be able to go to college. I am also very thankful for this new laptop haha.

I hope you all had a blessed Thanksgiving Day and don’t go too crazy for Black Friday.

Love,

Liz

url.jpg

 

One thought on “I’m Incredibly Thankful

Leave a Reply

