iPhone 7 Plus Review

Hey loves,

Today, I wanted to write a review on the iPhone 7 plus. Enjoy!

As you may remember, I bought the new iPhone 7 plus a little over a month ago. You guys can read that post here. This past Christmas, I decided to spoil myself and get me something very awesome. I fell in love with this phone the moment I saw my sister with it. I just knew that I had to have it. And, now that I have used this device for a little over month, I am glad to review it for you guys!

So, the iPhone 7 plus comes in the colors rose gold, gold, silver, black, and jet black (note that the jet black model only comes in 128 and 256 gigabytes). Storage wise, the iPhone 7 plus come in 32, 128, and 256 gigs. I got the rose gold 128 gig model.

Now, while the new colors and increased storage may be attractive, there’s a lot more to this phone than just these aspects. While I won’t cover all the tech specs, I will talk about the most significant ones that will be important factors when deciding whether or not you should upgrade. For a full spec review, check out Apple’s page.

screenshot-2016-09-08-at-03-54-01-1200x463

The things I love about the iPhone 7 plus:

Size and Display

The first thing I want to talk about is the size and display of the iPhone 7 plus. The display is a beautiful 5.5″ Retina HD display. The phone weighs 6.63 ounces and measure 6.23″ inches horizontally. Coming from an iPhone 5s, this was a HUGE difference. It was really big at first. It does fit in my pocket, but it’s not very comfortable. This is a phone that you will definitely need to carry in a purse if you have smaller pockets. However, once I got use to it, the size didn’t bother me at all. As a matter fact, my 5s seems so tiny now.

Camera

The iPhone 7 plus comes with the famous double camera. The camera is a 12 megapixel wide-angle and a telephoto camera. You can get a 10x digital zoom and a 2x optical zoom. You can also record 4K video on this device. The FaceTime camera is a 7 megapixel camera that can record 1080p video. This camera is what makes this year’s iPhone models so much different. The pictures on this device are absolutely gorgeous…. too gorgeous. I find that taking selfies is kind of scary with such a sharp camera. It really does bring out all your imperfections that were once not noticeable. Great feature, though!

Battery life 

Apple claims that the iPhone 7 plus can get up to 1 more hour of battery life than the 6s plus. They claim that you can get up to 15 hours of internet use on Wi-Fi. Now, I did notice that I do get quite more battery life on this device than on my iPhone 5s. It’ll definitely last you an entire day with some battery life left over for the next day. While, I do believe that this has great battery life, it’s not amazing. Personally, unless I have a shorter day the next day, I still have to charge mine overnight to be ready for tomorrow. Depending on what I’m doing, I can’t go more than one day and a half without charging it. Now, I must remind everyone that I am more of a light user. I don’t  play any games on my phone or watch movies on it. If you are like most people, you use all these features and they will definitely drain your battery. Overall, while yes, the iPhone 7 plus has a great battery life, it did not meet my expectations. This is more of a personal thing, though.

Home Button

There is no actual button for the home button on the iPhone 7 plus. There is this press technology where you can select from a range of presses to unlock your iPhone. I absolutely love this feature! You no longer ‘wear out’ the home button on your phone. It’s truly amazing.

Water and Dust Resistant

Apple claims that this new iPhone is resistant to water and dust. When I heard about this, I was super excited. I thought this would be great technology considering that accidents happens. But, it’s not amazing. It can only handle light splashes and dust. Please do NOT submerge your iPhone 7 in water! Apple has warned (in the tiniest print possible) that they are not responsible for these claims. This means that they are not responsible if your phone gets water damage. It’s a great safety ‘just in case’ feature to have but nothing worth putting all your confidence in. Now, if Apple made a phone that wasn’t so damn fragile, that would truly be impressive. One little fall and you iPhone is pretty much cracked for certain.

Now, here are some things that may turn you off about the new iPhone 7 plus:

Headphone jack

There is no headphone jack on this device. The headphone jack is the same port that you use to charge the phone with. Apple does provide you with proper headphones and an adapter to fit your regular headphones to connect to the charging port. However, if you want to listen to your headphones and charge your phone at the same time, you will need to spend the cash on an adapter. For me, this was no issue at all. I didn’t buy an adapter and I’m doing just fine. I haven’t been in a situation where I need to do listen to my headphones and charge my device at the same time (not yet, at least). You can also use the ever so popular wireless headphones. This shouldn’t be a deal breaker, in my opinion. On a side note: please don’t use apple AirPods with this device. Honestly, no one can look ‘cool’ with these things even if you do have the latest iPhone.

Price 

The base model starts off at $769. Now, factor in the taxes, a screen protector, a case, and wireless headphones or an adapter, and you are looking at pretty hefty price in total. Now, if you want a jet black model or 128 gigs of storage, you are looking at $100 more. For a 256 gig model, it’s an extra $200 more. Not to mention, your phone bill. It’s pretty expensive. It’s definitely a special treat.

Final Thoughts

Overall, I am in love with this phone. I love the bigger size and cute color. I love the fact that it lasts longer than my 5s and it’s a bit faster as well. The home button technology is amazing. And I have a love/hate relationship with the camera. It’s too good that I hate it (hopefully that makes sense lol). In my opinion, it’s definitely worth the money if you’re coming from the 5 range of iPhones. However, if you already have a bigger phone that’s working just fine, you can hold off. If you are interesting in purchasing the iPhone 7, click here.

I hope you all found this review helpful 🙂

Liz

 

img_0721
I found the most adorable cases for my iPhone ❤ 
7 thoughts on “iPhone 7 Plus Review

  1. I do need to plug in the phone and use headphones when I go into the program I’m leaving for on Monday. I have tinnitus and have to listen to white noise at night so what to do? Belkin makes a handy splitter that plugs in to the phone then has a box that both charger and headphones can plug in to. At the Apple Store it’s $39.95. May be cheaper elsewhere.

    The way I decided between the 7 and 7plus was the keyboard since I have small hands. The plus won out hands down. 🖖

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Unfortunately, adapters are pretty expensive. If you go the Apple route, they’ll be even more expensive. I highly recommend you to look at drug stores such as Target and Walgreens before you go there. Also, originally I was going to get the iPhone se because the size seemed so convenient. When I got the store however, they didn’t have any in stock lol. Good luck with your program! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I did get the SE because I thought I wanted to stick with the 5s size but the typing was still problematic. I have small hands, or more accurately short thumbs, so when I typed in the landscape mode (vertical being too small on the SE screen) I would constantly be hitting N or Space. As a side note, my dad says I must have thumbs of steel, lol. Anyway, the 7’s allowed for vertical mode typing but I still had loads of mistakes with the slightly narrow 7 so it was 7plus for me. I thought it would be huge and cumbersome but it turns out to be not too bad. Sill, carrying it stretches my hand. But it still fits in my back pocket – a must.

        Another thing about the size it it makes it better for reading whether it’s kindle or email. And, I can write a thesis long text! However, I recently discovered that some people have older phones (gasp) and still have a very limited character count on receiving texts… character count, really?! It would be nice to have only iPhone friends but some of them just insist on having other phones and worse, not getting new ones at all. 😛

        Such is life with first world problems, eh?

        Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

