The College Student Dilemma

Hey loves,

Today, I want to talk about a common problem among college students. Enjoy!

As most of you know, I am a college student. I’m currently a junior which means that after this semester is over, I only have one more year. That’s pretty awesome, now. No more having to worry about homework, going to class, work and school, etc. Now, you got your degree and you find a job that pays you well and you pay off your loans and life is perfect, right? I wish. This is when the real problems start. You’d hope that everything would work out but nope, the hardships of life are only beginning.

Yesterday, I was on a popular job search site when I typed in any jobs in my major (I want to go into journalism). There were a few jobs in my area. However, the minimum amount of experience needed in 4 years with one job stating that they wanted 10 plus years of experience in a very specific area and a Master’s Degree. All those requirements for a starting salary of $30,000 a year. Awesome!

I want to talk a little about this problem because it’s something that impacts almost all college graduates. Finding a job in your major immediately after graduation is a near impossible task. Employers look for outrages resumes. There is no way possible a recent college graduate will have nearly as much experience as they require. In this case, I’d have to start working since I was 10 years old. That’s issue number 1. Problem 2 is the pay. If you ever do find a job in your major, the starting pay is nowhere near what you wanted it to be. You went to school for 4 years, got yourself in a $30,000, to only make $30,000 a year. Now, I am by no means a greedy person but the pay truly sucks for all the requirements.

I hate to break other student’s hopes and dreams, but you are most likely not going to find a job in major that pays well upon graduation. You’re going to have to work in either retail or food and then, work your way up from there. Even once you do get a job in your major, you’re probably going to have to take up another side job.

I really wish universities would do a better job with preparing us for the outside world. They should make internships and school jobs that fit our majors a requirement. They should give priority to students of a certain for certain jobs. Not give just any student a job in that section when a needy student whose actual major is in that job opening. Unfortunately, most colleges don’t care and will throw you out in the cold once they have taken all your money.

Well, not to make any other college student or future college student any more depressed, I’ll end it here.

I wish you all the best of luck!

Liz

Twitter-When-employers-want-you-to-have-b73c94

Leave a Reply

